Delaware Governor John Carney
Governor Carney Requires Delawareans to Wear Face Coverings in Public Settings
Children 2-years-old and younger should not wear face coverings due to suffocation risk
WILMINGTON, Del. – Governor John Carney on Saturday issued the thirteenth modification to his State of Emergency declaration, requiring Delawareans to wear face coverings in public settings, including in grocery stores, convenience stores, pharmacies, doctor’s offices, and on public transportation.
Governor Carney’s order does not require children aged 12 or younger to wear a face covering. Any child 2-years-old or younger MUST NOT wear a face covering, due to the risk of suffocation.
Read Governor Carney’s modified order, which is effective 8:00 a.m. on Tuesday, April 28.
Click here for resources about face coverings.
“Now is not the time for Delawareans to get complacent,” said Governor Carney. “We face a very serious situation, with additional cases of COVID-19 and hospitalizations statewide. All of our actions are guided by science, and intended to save lives. Wearing a face covering in public settings is important to prevent transmission of this disease. But wearing a face covering is not permission to go out in public more often. Delawareans should stay home unless it’s absolutely necessary to go out for essential work or essential items. Don’t go out in public unnecessarily. You will only increase your risk - and the risk to your family, friends, and neighbors.”
Under Governor Carney’s modified order, businesses must also take certain steps to keep their employees and customers safe.
By 8:00 a.m. on Friday, May 1, businesses must:
Delawareans are urged to use cloth face coverings and reserve medical-grade masks for use by health care workers and first responders. Medical-grade masks include N95, KN95, surgical, or other masks that would be appropriate for a health care setting.
Delawareans wearing a face covering should practice strict hand-washing before and after touching the face covering, according to the Delaware Division of Public Health (DPH). Face coverings are not a replacement for washing hands, practicing physical distancing, and staying home. Delawareans who are sick should wear a face covering over their nose and mouth if they must be around other people – even while at home.
“Wearing a face covering is not a substitute for existing guidance around hand-washing and social distancing,” saidDr. Karyl Rattay, Director of the Delaware Division of Public Health. “Delawareans should stay at home whenever possible, only leaving for essential activities. Wash your hands. Keep 6-10 feet between yourself and others.”
Governor Carney’s State of Emergency has the full force and effect of law. The stay-at-home order, and mandatory quarantine for out-of-state travelers, remain in place. Violations of the emergency order, or any of its modifications, constitute a criminal offense.
Delawareans with questions about COVID-19, related to medical or social service needs, should call 2-1-1; or 7-1-1 for individuals who are deaf or hard-of-hearing. Hours of operation are 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. Monday through Friday; and 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. on the weekends. Questions may also be submitted by email atDPHCall@delaware.gov.
DPH will continue to update the public as more information becomes available. For the latest on Delaware’s response, visit: de.gov/coronavirus
Change in Rental License due date
On Monday 4/6/2020 Governor Carney issued an update to the State of Emergency, banning short-term rentals “through May 15, or until the public health threat is eliminated”. This order covers vacation home rentals, hotels, motels and condo rentals.
In light of this order the Town of Bethany Beach is extending the due date for rental license applications from June 1 to July 1 for the rental year of June 1, 2020 through May 31, 2021. Late fees will not be charged during this time.
The Notary requirement on the safety certificate portion of Rental applications is waived this year. Please sign the safety form without the notary step and return with your application and payment.
Governor Carney Issues Updated State of Emergency; Bans Short-Term Rentals
Tenth update to emergency order also closes additional businesses to fight COVID-19
WILMINGTON, Del. – Governor John Carney on Monday issued the tenth modification to his State of Emergency declaration, banning all short-term rental units – including vacation home rentals, hotels, motels, and condo rentals – to help fight the spread of COVID-19.
Commercial lodging in Delaware will remain closed through May 15, or until the public health threat is eliminated. The order exempts certain Delawareans and essential workers who may need access to short-term rental units. That list of exemptions includes caretakers with family members nearby, health care providers, journalists, and Delawareans with public housing vouchers.
Victims of domestic violence who need alternative shelter also are exempted.
Monday’s order places additional restrictions on businesses, banning door-to-door solicitation and closing pawn shops, video game stores, and other electronics retailers.
Click here to read the full text of Governor Carney’s tenth modification.
Governor Carney’s updated order takes effect at 8:00 p.m. on Tuesday, April 7.
“All of Delaware’s restrictions are intended to prevent a surge in cases, preserve our hospital capacity, and save lives,” said Governor Carney. “This is not the time for a vacation or tax-free shopping in Delaware. Delawareans also should not go out in public unnecessarily. Stay safe. Stay home. Protect your neighbors. We’ll get through this – but it’s going to take all of us.”
Governor Carney’s emergency order, including its modifications, have the force and effect of law. Failure to comply constitutes a criminal offense. State and local law enforcement agencies are authorized to enforce the provisions of the State of Emergency.
Delaware employers with questions about how they may be impacted can email covid19FAQ@delaware.gov, or call (302) 577-8477 from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Emails are encouraged due to potentially high call volume.
Delawareans with general questions about COVID-19 or their exposure risk can call the Division of Public Health’s Coronavirus Call Center at 211, or 711 for individuals who are deaf or hard-of-hearing, from 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. Monday through Friday, and 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Saturday and Sunday. Questions can also be submitted by email at DPHCall@delaware.gov. DPH will continue to update the public as more information becomes available. For the latest on Delaware’s response, visit de.gov/coronavirus.